Welcome at the Department of Medical Informatics of the University Medical Center Goettingen

The Department of Medical Informatics is part of the cross-faculty Center for Informatics of the Georg-August-University Goettingen. It works in close collaboration with the departments of Medical Statistics and Bioinformatics. Prof. Dr. Dagmar Krefting heads this department, her deputies are Prof. Dr. med. Tibor Kesztyüs and Prof. Dr. Ulrich Sax. The former director of the institute, Prof. Dr. med. Otto Rienhoff, has an advisory function.

The department team consists of about 50 employees who develop and evaluate innovative IT-solutions for data management in medical research (data science). The UMG Center for Data Integration (MeDIC) counsels scientists regarding the curation of analogue and digital data in collaboration with UMG Biobank (headed by Priv.-Doz. Dr. Sara Nußbeck) and other service divisions on campus.

Next to MeDIC, the department concentrates its projects and services within the three areas clinical collaborative research, cross-sectoral collaborative research, and translational research. There is a close cooperation with partners from health care, science, and industry. Scientific findings are being published according to the FAIR principles. All working groups cooperate closely with Technology, Methods and Infrastructure for Networked Medical Research (TMF e.V.).

The department offers an internationally accredited bachelor and master study program. It supports vocational training in order to acquire GMDS certificates for computer scientists as well as training for the additional medical informatics qualification of the State Medical Chambers for Physicians. It supports dissertation and habilitation projects.

Contact
Dagmar Krefting
Prof. Dr. Dagmar Krefting
Head of Department of Medical Informatics
Telefon:
+49 (0)551-39-61500
Telefax:
+49 (0)551-39-61532
E-Mail:
dagmar.krefting@med.uni-goettingen.de

Herzlich willkommen im Institut für Medizinische Informatik der Universitätsmedizin Göttingen

Das Institut für Medizinische Informatik ist Teil des fakultätsübergreifenden Zentrums für Informatik der Georg-August-Universität Göttingen. Es arbeitet eng mit den Instituten für Medizinische Statistik und Bioinformatik zusammen. Prof. Dr. Dagmar Krefting leitet das Institut. Ihre Stellvertreter sind die Medizininformatiker Prof. Dr. Tibor Kesztyüs und Prof. Dr. Ulrich Sax. Außerdem steht ihr der Arzt und ehemalige Institutsdirektor Prof. Dr. Otto Rienhoff beratend zur Seite. 

Die etwa 50 Mitarbeiterinnen und Mitarbeiter entwickeln und evaluieren innovative IT-Lösungen für das Datenmanagement in der medizinischen Forschung (Data Science). Das UMG-Datenintegrationszentrum (MeDIC) berät Forscherinnen und Forscher in der Kuration analoger und digitaler Daten in Abstimmung mit der UMG Biobank (Leitung: Priv.-Doz. Dr. Sara Nußbeck) und anderen Serviceeinrichtungen am Campus.

Das Institut bündelt seine Projekte und Services neben dem MeDIC in den drei Bereichen klinische Verbundforschung, intersektorale Verbundforschung und translationale Forschung. Es kooperiert eng mit Partnern aus Forschung, Versorgung und der Industrie. Forschungsergebnisse und Forschungsdaten werden nach den FAIR-Prinzipien veröffentlicht. Alle Arbeitsgruppen kooperieren eng der mit Technologie- und Methodenplattform für die vernetzte medizinische Forschung (TMF e.V.)

Das Institut betreibt einen international anerkannten Bachelor- und Master-Studiengang. Es ermöglicht die berufliche Fortbildung zum Erwerb der GMDS-Zertifikate und der Bereichsbezeichnung Medizinische Informatik der Ärztekammern. Es unterstützt Promotions- und Habilitationsvorhaben.

Ansprechpartner
Dagmar Krefting
Prof. Dr. Dagmar Krefting
Institutsleitung
Telefon:
+49 (0)551-39-61500
Telefax:
+49 (0)551-39-61532
E-Mail:
dagmar.krefting@med.uni-goettingen.de